Isn’t there something else I should be doing?

Weeks two and three of any exercise regimen seem to be really tough for me. I always start out the first week really excited. I enjoy planning everything out and I look forward to achieving my goal. Week two comes along and I realize that I actually have to do work hard at this! How am I going to fit this into my already busy life?!

My “long” run for the week was on Sunday. As I was ending my day at work yesterday knowing I had to get a run in, I began listing in my head all the things I should do instead. It’s amazing how easily other things in life can creep up and appear so important and time consuming.  Perhaps I should work longer, vacuum the house, stay home and play with the dogs/cats because I was gone all day.

I go through the same thought process at work. I know I have to fill positions but it’s so easy for me to convince myself that other tasks are more important and all of a sudden the week is gone. As a recruiter I know that everything is urgent and the work day never truly ends. As a matter of fact, I never turn off my inner “recruiter” and I can easily turn casual conversation with friends or acquaintances into a recruiting event. It’s all about networking, baby. Regardless, at the end of the day I need to fill jobs and doing the basic “recruiting” functions such as sourcing, screening resumes and phone interviewing while I am at work are essential to filling jobs. If I can’t get those done it doesn’t matter how many emails I have answered or how many meetings I have attended.  I simply won’t fill positions.

Same is true with running. I can convince myself all day long that I should be doing something else or that I would rather be doing anything except for actually getting out there and running. The problem is that if I don’t do the running, I can’t (at least not without a lot of suffering) finish the half marathon.

Ultimately it comes down to prioritizing. Prioritizing is a daily struggle from a work perspective as well as personally. I know that I have to focus on the tasks that are most important and will lead to filling jobs. I also know that vacuuming, working longer and playing with my pets is pretty important but if I don’t get my scheduled runs in I won’t be finishing a half marathon. In the grand scheme of things the time commitment (and suffering) for running is pretty minimal compared to what I will gain from it. You can accomplish anything, even when you are under pressure, if you take it one step at a time and gently remind yourself why you must do the things you don’t really want to do.

Life isn’t meant to be easy friends. Neither is running or recruiting.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Isn’t there something else I should be doing?

  1. Prioritizing is hard…I bet recruiting is as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

