Tools of the Trade

This has been a rough week for my running. Especially since I thought I did so well last Sunday on my long run. Each time I ran this week I felt awful in every way possible. This has done nothing for my confidence for my nine mile run this Sunday. I am quite nervous actually.

I could think of a million reasons as to why I had a bad week. However, I do know one thing for sure. I did not have water and it was hot. I have this stupid little water bottle that fits over my hand which quite frankly is more annoying then helpful. Not only that, it seems to hold about one tablespoon of water which I quickly gobble up within a mile unless I consciously pace myself. I desperately want a water belt and you would think this would be a simple purchase. Not in WI. Sorry my WI peeps but if I could complain about one thing, it would be lack of options. I went to Target for a water belt and they had one. ONE! Are you serious??

Therefore, I am putting out an APB for a water belt. Please let me know ASAP if you know where I can find a reasonably priced one around these parts……

This leads to my next observation for the week and I have to credit a fellow HR professional for this week’s words of wisdom. Just as I know that I should always have my trusty water bottle (or belt if I can find one!) with me, there are certain “tools” that should always be on hand whatever profession you are in to contribute to success. Earlier this week I received an email from said HR professional noted above requesting my “expertise”. She was requesting my assistance with Boolean search strings and as luck should have it, I just love those. The logic of Boolean just gets me going. I love to try and piece together the perfect combination to get me the results I need. However, I must admit that in the essence of time I do reference my AIRS recruiting manual to “cheat” from time to time. You could consider it my “water bottle” of recruiting. Just as I should always have water on hand while running since I know it will contribute to my success, I should always keep my AIRS manual handy as it lends the same value for me in my work.

As a side note, if you don’t know what Boolean search strings are they are the magical goodness that allows me the capability to find just about anything or anyone via the internet. No one is safe from my powers, especially if at the moment you happen to be in marketing, industrial design or engineering. J

 

P.S. Shout out to Peggy! Thanks for the fab blog idea!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

